Saint Patrick School is located in the heart of Larkspur. Settled in 1908, this historic town is nestled in a scenic valley dominated by lovely views of Mt. Tamalpais. St. Patrick's was named in honor of Patrick King, who had originally owned the town land. St. Patrick Parish, which was established in 1915, quickly become an integral part of the Larkspur community. Early in 1954, Father Joseph Kenney, recognizing the spiritual and educational needs of this growing community, initiated a fundraising campaign for the construction of a parish school and a convent. St. Patrick School opened its doors to 160 students in September 1963 staffed by Dominican sisters from Adrian, Michigan. Archbishop McGucken blessed and dedicated both the new school and the convent on April 25, 1964.
In 1977, a lay staff replaced the Dominican Sisters. The Parents Club funded the construction of three rooms under the school building in 1981. These facilities housed the library and the new Kindergarten. In 1982, morning and after-school care was added to meet the needs of working families.
Over the years, St. Patrick School and Parish have been growing, changing and adapting to meet the various needs of more than 700 families. Today, Saint Patrick Parish and School continue to thrive as spiritual and educational entities, which serve parishioners throughout Marin Country. It is a community of many caring people involved in the education of its students who work together to instill a love and respect for Catholic traditions, a strong academic foundation, and a reverence for life.